X

Rowan Kelowna, BC

32169152_10156502178300409_4178995993527713792_n.jpgBumps and bruises come with the territory when you’re a two-year-old. But when Katie’s son, Rowan, returned from a camping trip with his grandparents in the summer of 2017 with a swollen knee, she could tell it was something more serious. The swelling didn’t decrease, and Rowan was experiencing more and more pain. 

Katie and Rowan didn’t get answers for a month, as five trips to the emergency room in Kelowna, BC built frustration and concern. 

Finally, after more pain and struggles to see a paediatrician, Rowan and Katie received a diagnosis.

“The doctors were gathered around and said possibly the worst thing he could have ever said,” says Katie. “It was either cancer or arthritis.”

After tests ruled out the chance of cancer, Rowan was diagnosed with Juvenile Idiopathic Arthritis (JIA). It is a chronic disorder where Rowan’s immune system attacks cells and tissues in his joints. ’Idiopathic’ means the cause is unknown.

Once they learned about the specialized treatment Rowan would need, it meant visits to the BC Children’s Hospital in Vancouver ... a four hour minimum drive.

Rowan might not seem like he faces a chronic, painful condition, as he lives the busy, happy life of any three-year-old. He loves swimming at his grandparent’s pool and riding his bike, which is equipped with a special set-up so he doesn’t have to pedal.32215213_10156502177800409_5201430584886296576_n.jpg

Once they learned about the specialized treatment Rowan would need, it meant visits to BC Children’s Hospital in Vancouver. It is the closest treatment centre to their home in Kelowna, a four hour minimum drive.

In the summer the trip would mean a long, uncomfortable car ride for Rowan. “Maybe with some vomit,” laughs Katie. In the winter, however, the highway connecting Kelowna to Vancouver is frequently closed and the site of many accidents. It is a long, dangerous drive. Katie says even if the road was open in the winter, she isn’t sure she would risk their safety to make the treacherous trip. Flying to Vancouver adds substantially to the costs already facing a mother whose child has a chronic medical condition. 

At first, Rowan had to visit BC Children’s Hospital, getting routine injections in his knees to help with inflammation. Now, he visits so that doctors can manage the complications that can come from his medication for JIA. There is a risk of kidney issues, and other side-effects, which need to be closely monitored. Every three months, Rowan and Katie make the trip from Kelowna to Vancouver for these appointments.

They have travelled with Hope Air eight times says Katie. She found out about Hope Air through her daycare, and an organizer of a former shuttle service from Kelowna to BC Children’s Hospital. At first she didn’t know what to think. Hope Air sounded too good to be true: flight costs provided for people in need of faraway medical care.

32202685_10156502177235409_4275132428357468160_n.jpg“We couldn’t imagine not having Hope Air,” says Katie. “It’s honestly just been amazing.”

As of February, Rowan has been free of painful flare-ups of JIA. They will be travelling back to BC Children’s Hospital this summer for another necessary appointment to manage his symptoms.

Because of the chronic nature of JIA, Katie says she takes things one day at a time and keeps a positive outlook on the future. 

Rowan is still the same happy kid, and does his best to find different ways to express himself and get his energy out. He’s an avid singer, loves going to his daycare, and ‘running around like a maniac,’ says Katie with a laugh. Despite the frustration of not always being able to keep up with other kids, he takes it all in stride. 

“He’s the strongest kid I know,” says Katie.

X

Rowan Kelowna, BC

32169152_10156502178300409_4178995993527713792_n.jpgLes bobos et les bleus font partie du quotidien d’un bambin de deux ans. Mais, lorsque son fils est revenu d’un voyage de camping avec ses grands-parents en 2017 avec un genou enflé, Katie s’est doutée immédiatement qu’il s’agissait de quelque chose de plus grave. L’enflure ne diminuait pas et la douleur que Rowan ressentait devenait de plus en plus intense.

Après un mois et cinq visites à l’urgence de Kelowna en Colombie-Britannique, Katie et Rowan n’avaient toujours pas de réponse, augmentant la frustration et l’inquiétude.

Finalement, après encore plus de douleurs et une vraie lutte pour rencontrer un pédiatre, Rowan et Katie ont finalement reçu un diagnostic.

« Les médecins étaient tous là et le pédiatre a dit la pire chose qu’il aurait pu dire, explique Katie. Il s’agit d’un cancer ou de l’arthrite. »

Une fois que les examens médicaux ont écarté la possibilité d’un cancer, Rowan a reçu un diagnostic d'arthrite idiopathique juvénile (AJI). Il s’agit d’un trouble chronique où le système immunitaire de Rowan attaque les cellules et les tissus de ses articulations. Le terme « idiopathique » signifie « de cause inconnue ».

Rowan ne paraît peut-être pas souffrir d’une condition chronique et douloureuse, car il mène une vie heureuse et très active, comme tout enfant de trois ans. Il adore se baigner dans la piscine de ses grands-parents et se promener en vélo, qui est équipé de manière à ce qu’il n’ait pas à pédaler.
Ils ont été informés du traitement spécialisé dont Rowan aurait besoin, et du fait qu’il faudrait qu’ils se rendent l'Hôpital pour enfants de la Colombie-Britannique à Vancouver. C’était le centre de traitement le plus proche de leur domicile de Kelowna. En voiture, cela représentait un minimum de quatre heures de route.32215213_10156502177800409_5201430584886296576_n.jpg

L’été, le trajet en voiture serait long et inconfortable pour Rowan. « Avec des vomissements sans doute! » ajoute Katie en riant. Et, pendant l’hiver, l’autoroute entre Kelowna à Vancouver est souvent fermée et le site de plusieurs accidents. C’est un trajet qui est long et dangereux. Katie avoue que même si la route était ouverte en hiver, elle n’est pas certaine qu’elle risquerait leur vie en entreprenant ce déplacement périlleux. Prendre l’avion jusqu’à Vancouver ajoute sensiblement aux dépenses que doit assumer une mère dont l’enfant souffre d’une condition médicale chronique.

Au début, Rowan devait se rendre à l'Hôpital pour enfants de la Colombie-Britannique, pour recevoir des injections de routine pour atténuer l’inflammation. Maintenant, il rencontre les médecins afin de gérer les complications découlant de ses médicaments pour l’AJI. Il y a des risques de problèmes rénaux et d’autres effets secondaires qui doivent être surveillés de près. Tous les trois mois, Rowan et Katie parcourent la distance entre Kelowna et Vancouver pour se rendre à ces rendez-vous.

Katie a expliqué qu’ils ont fait ce déplacement huit fois avec Vols d’espoir. Elle a entendu parler de Vols d’espoir par l’entremise de sa garderie, et une personne qui organisait un ancien service de navette de Kelowna à l’Hôpital pour enfants de la Colombie-Britannique. Au début, elle ne savait pas trop quoi penser. L’aide de Vols d’espoir semblait trop belle pour être vraie : des voyages en avion gratuits pour les gens ayant besoin de soins médicaux éloignés.
 

 Nous ne pouvons pas imaginer vivre sans Vols d’espoir, déclare Katie. L'expérience a été extraordinaire. 


Depuis février 2018, Rowan ne souffre plus des poussées douloureuses de l’AJI. Ils retourneront à l’Hôpital pour enfants de la Colombie-Britannique cet été pour un autre rendez-vous nécessaire pour gérer ses symptômes.

En raison de la nature chronique de l’AJI, Katie explique qu’elle vit au jour le jour et qu’elle envisage l’avenir de manière positive.

Rowan est le même enfant heureux; et il fait son possible pour trouver différentes façons de s’exprimer et de dépenser son énergie. Katie raconte en riant qu’il est un chanteur avide; adore la garderie; et court partout comme un véritable maniaque. Malgré la frustration de ne pas toujours pouvoir suivre les autres enfants, il ne se décourage pas pour autant.

« C’est l’enfant le plus fort que je connaisse « , dit Katie.