X

Tammy St. John's, NL

Tammy-instory.jpgIn October of 2015, Tammy left work for what she assumed would be an appointment that was no longer than 15 minutes. She said goodbye to her co-workers and assured them she would not be gone long. Tammy did not return to her desk until eight months later.

Before this appointment Tammy was having blurred vision. She did not think much of it and just assumed she would need new glasses. Unfortunately, this was not the case. Tammy was given a diagnosis she was not ready to hear at age 44. Her doctor found a tumor behind her right eye, which had detached from the retina. She was diagnosed with Ocular Melanoma, a rare form of cancer with a possibility of growing to her liver, lungs and brain. Tammy was in disbelief. She was shocked and unsure of what to do next.

Tammy was given two options. Since the treatment she needed was not available in Newfoundland and Labrador, she could either go to the treatment centre near her home and have the eye removed or travel to the Princess Margaret Centre in Toronto.

IMG_8118.jpg Tammy, who was still trying to wrap her head around the diagnosis, now had to tell her children and the rest of her family she would have to leave home. Tammy’s daughter, who had just begun her nursing career, put her life on hold to go with her. Only a few days after the diagnosis, the arrangements were made at the hospital in Toronto. This entire process happened very quickly and Tammy was feeling extremely overwhelmed.

 
I was not financially ready for this. Flights? Hotel? I had no idea what I was going to do.



Tammy’s doctor suggested they call Hope Air. Within hours of making the initial phone call to Hope Air, the flights were booked, they had received their itinerary and they were on their way. This was the first flight of many. Tammy has traveled for surgery, radiation therapy and now for follow-ups. "Hope Air has taken away so much of the financial burden for my family and I.”

These days, Tammy still travels with Hope Air to Toronto for her checkups. Although she has lost vision in her eye, the cancer has not spread. Hope Air gave Tammy the opportunity to receive treatment at one of the best Oncology Centers in the world. Tammy is so grateful that Hope Air was able to take away some of the burden and stress of travelling for medical care.

X

Tammy St. John's, NL

Tammy-instory.jpgEn octobre 2015, Tammy a quitté le travail pour aller à un rendez-vous qui devait prendre moins de 15 minutes. Elle a salué ses collègues de travail en leur disant qu’elle allait revenir sous peu. Tammy est retournée à son bureau huit mois plus tard.
Avant ce rendez-vous, Tammy avait la vue brouillée. Elle n’était pas très préoccupée, croyant qu’elle aurait besoin de nouvelles lunettes. Malheureusement, ce n’était pas le cas. Tammy a reçu un diagnostic qu’elle n’était pas prête à entendre à l’âge de 44 ans. Son médecin a découvert une tumeur derrière son œil droit, qui a entraîné le décollement de la rétine. Elle a reçu un diagnostic de mélanome oculaire, une forme de cancer rare qui peut atteindre le foie, les poumons et le cerveau. Tammy ne pouvait le croire. Elle était en état de choc; incertaine des prochaines étapes.

On lui a présenté deux options. Comme le traitement dont elle avait besoin n’était pas disponible à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, elle pouvait soit se rendre au centre de traitement proche de son domicile où on lui enlèverait son œil, ou se rendre à l’Hôpital Princess Margaret Centre de Toronto.

Tammy, qui essayait toujours de comprendre ce qui se passait, devait maintenant informer ses enfants et le reste de la famille qu’elle allait devoir quitter la maison. La fille de Tammy, qui venait juste de commencer sa carrière d’infirmière, a mis sa vie entre parenthèses pour l’accompagner. À peine quelques jours après le diagnostic, les dispositions ont été prises à l’hôpital de Toronto. Tout le processus s’était déroulé très rapidement et Tammy se sentait extrêmement dépassée par les événements.IMG_8118.jpg

Le médecin de Tammy leur a suggéré d’appeler Vols d’espoir. À peine quelques heures après le premier appel à Vols d’espoir, les vols étaient réservés; elles avaient reçu leur itinéraire; et elles étaient en route. Il s’agissait du premier de plusieurs vols. Tammy a fait des déplacements pour la chirurgie, la radiothérapie et maintenant pour le suivi. « Vols d’espoir nous a libérées, moi et ma famille, d’une grande partie du fardeau financier. »

Ces jours-ci, Tammy se rend à Toronto avec Vols d’espoir pour ses examens médicaux. Bien qu’elle ait perdu la vision dans son œil, le cancer ne s’est pas propagé. Vols d’espoir a donné à Tammy la chance d’être soignée dans l’un des meilleurs centres d’oncologie au monde. Tammy est extrêmement reconnaissante envers Vols d’espoir, qui l’a libérée d’une partie du fardeau et du stress d’avoir à se déplacer pour recevoir des soins médicaux.